General Rules & Regulations

Qualities of a JudgeRuels & regulations

A willingness to learn, a desire to improve ones skills and keeping up to date, with rules and judging. Will standby judgment decisions. Shows absolute impartiality. No bias, national or otherwise and no status distinction between judging team members or competing teams.

Each NAC must provide a list of new FAI Parachuting Judges, Annual Renewal Judges and Reinstated Judges.  This list must be provided to the Chair of the IPC Judges Committee no later than December 31 of the calendar year preceding the annual IPC meeting. The NAC will certify to the IPC Judges Committee that the Judges from its country have met the FAI Parachuting Judge Rating Initial Qualification requirements, the Annual Renewal requirements or the Reinstatement requirements.
Any NAC may provide the names of any new FAI Parachuting Judges, immediately after a completed IPC Judge Training Course, directly to the Chair of the IPC Judges Committee, who will then add them to the IPC list of FAI Parachuting Judges.

For the Freefall Style and Accuracy Landing categories, current CISM International Judges are considered to have met all the requirements necessary for inclusion in the IPC list of FAI Parachuting Judges and an NAC may include their names on the nomination list.

The IPC sets the minimum requirements for an FAI Parachuting Judge Rating.  NACs are encouraged to enhance the IPC’s minimum standards in order to ensure experienced and technically competent FAI Parachuting Judges for FAI/IPC sanctioned competitions.

An FAI Parachuting Judge must have a detailed knowledge of the Sporting Code, General Section, Section 5 with its annexes and the Competition Rules for the particular category for which he is qualified.

An FAI Parachuting Judge or a Judge in Training must have the ability to communicate so as to allow him to properly understand instructions, participate fully in discussions among Judges or of the Panel of Judges and adequately discuss all aspects of sport parachuting.

Sporting Code

The sporting code is a series of regulations consisting of The Competition rules for each different event. Section 5, and the General section.

General Section

The FAI Sporting Code consists of the General Section and a number of specialised sections.
The Code deals with three major areas: firstly, organized sporting events such as championships and competitions, secondly, records, and thirdly the validation of specified performances for Certificates of Proficiency or badges.
The General Section consists of matters which are common to all air sports, and is the responsibility of the FAI Air Sport General Commission (in French, CASI). The specialised sections of the Code contain rules and procedures for specific activities, and are the responsibility of the appropriate Air Sport Commission.
The Sporting Code is under constant scrutiny because of the rapid development of air sports.

Section 5

In accordance with the General Section of the Sporting Code, this Section, together with any amendments and the Competition Rules, contains the Regulations that apply to all sport parachuting activity. Only events that are held in accordance with these rules are recognised by the FAI.  NACs should apply these rules to National Championships and other National Parachuting Competitions.  For national competitions, this Section of the Sporting Code may need modification to conform to local Civil Aviation regulations and to allow for novice and other competitions.

The changes to this Sporting Code and the IPC Competition Rules are valid from the 1st of March following the IPC Meeting, where the changes were approved. Any decision to change this date must be made by the IPC Plenary at the time of approval.

Click here to download the rules

Start the course here (opens in a new window) =>